Off-Road Vehicle (ORV) Unit
The Grant County Sheriff's Office is proud to provide public safety services to our off-road recreation communities. The ORV Unit currently consists of two full-time commissioned deputies who works with a number of community groups to ensure safe off-road recreation. The ORV Deputy travels the state educating users of the Sand Dunes and other areas as to the laws and safety equipment required in off-road activities. Memorial Day weekend is an example of one of the more active weekends and assistance from other agencies and deputies makes this a success, drastically reducing the number of accidents and calls for service.
Areas, Conditions & Laws Under Which You Are Allowed To Ride
- Vacant Lots: Find out who owns the land and ask for their permission to ride on the land; if you don't, you are guilty of trespassing (going onto someone's property without their permission).
- Just because there's not a fence around it doesn't mean you have the right to ride there.
- The biggest complaint about ORVs running near houses is the noise and dust, the noise bothers everyone so don't ride near houses; clean air regulations govern the amount of dust that can be created, violations of clean air regulations can carry stiff fines
- Washington State DNR, WDFW and some Private Land: (Department of Natural Resources and Department of Fish and Wildlife), ORVs are permitted on marked DNR and WDFW roads and trails. View the law as it pertains to Chapter 46.09 of the Revised Code of Washington Off-road and non-highway vehicles
Conditions & Requirements
- Brakes and Brake-lights
- Current License Plate or ORV Tag
- Head-lights and tail-lights are required during the hours of darkness
- Per Grant County Code 11.30.030, any ATV, ORV, or any other vehicle (excluding motorcycles) must be equipped with a flag for added visibility in a bright red or brilliant orange color, measuring at least forty-eight inches square, mounted on a pole placing the flag a minimum of one hundred eight inches above the ground when the vehicle is stationary. Such flag shall be displayed as to be visible from all directions, maintaining nearly all of the required height when the vehicle is in motion.
- No child under 16 years of age may operate and ORV without adult supervision as specified by RCW.46.09.460 and the adult must possess a valid license to operate a motor vehicle
- Helmet use per RCW.46.09.470 (3)(a):Except for an off-road vehicle equipped with seat belts and roll bars or an enclosed passenger compartment, it is a traffic infraction for any person to operate or ride an off-road vehicle on a nonhighway road without wearing upon his or her head a motorcycle helmet fastened securely while in motion
- For purposes of this section, motorcycle helmet has the same meaning as provided in RCW 46.37.530
- A working muffling system (emitting no more than 105 decibels at 20 feet) with a USFS Approved Spark Arrester that is stamped into the metal on motorcycle mufflers and is clearly visible
Areas, Conditions & Laws Under Which You Are Not Allowed To Ride
- Canals: Riding along canals is prohibited, these roads are for maintenance and canal operations; if you are on them, you are guilty of trespassing
- Roadways: Only licensed street vehicles may ride on, cross or ride the shoulders/ditches of roadways
Grant County 4WD & ORV Communities
View a list of ORV groups and communities located in Grant County.
Moses Lake Sand Dunes are open for camping and recreating. Please follow the rules and regulations that are posted at each entrance and throughout the dunes.
Camping is only restricted on Memorial, 4th of July, and Labor Day weekends. To allow access for emergency responders, starting this year there is no camping anywhere west of the third restroom building to the intersection of Sand Dunes Road and Power line Road.
Access to the dunes is now possible from the west end. The Yellow Zone is closed from October 1st to June 30 each year.
No ATVs/UTVs/Motorcycles (to include Street Legal) on county roadways.