Special Handling Waste

Mercury-Containing Lights

Beginning January 1, 2013, Chapter 70.275 RCW requires all persons, government, commercial, industrial, retail facilities, and office buildings in Washington State to recycle their mercury-containing lights. That means that the following sites will not accept mercury-containing lights for disposal:

  • Ephrata Landfill
  • Mattawa Drop Box Site
  • CDSI Transfer Station
  • Delano Regional Transfer Station


Lithium Batteries

View our Lithium Battery Danger Safety Sheet (PDF).