- What materials are illegal to burn in an outdoor fire?
Paint, Construction Debris, Tires, Cardboard, Dead Animals, Demolition Debris, Petroleum Products, Asphalt, Plastic, Metals, treated wood, and paper.
- What can I burn in an outdoor fire?
The only approved item that you may burn outdoors is natural vegetation (Residential yard waste like weeds or leaves).
- How much natural vegetation can I burn?
You may only burn one 4' X 4' X 3' pile at a time.
- Can I use a burn barrel to burn natural vegetation?
NO. Burn barrels are and have been illegal in Washington State since 2000. There are many fires, whether it be wildland or structural, that starts every year in the Grant County Area as a direct result of burning in a burn barrel. Ultimately, you could be held criminally and civilly liable for any damage done by a fire resulting from a burn barrel.
- What is the definition of Residential Burning?
Residential Burning means the outdoor burning of leaves, clippings, pruning, and other yard and gardening refuse that originate on lands immediately adjacent and in close proximity to a human dwelling and is burned on such lands by the property owner or his or her designee.
- Can I use a burn to clear off my land?
Yes. Although restrictions and possibly permits may apply in order for you to conduct one. You are encouraged to contact the Washington State Department of Ecology for more information.
- What is the definition of Land Clearing burning?
Land Clearing burning means the outdoor burning of trees, stumps, shrubbery, or other natural vegetation from land clearing projects (i.e. projects that clear the land surface so it can be developed, used for a different purpose, or left unused).
- Is there anywhere I can't burn?
On January 1, 2007, the Washington Clean Air Act banned ALL burning in Urban Growth areas.
You are also not allowed to have any type of burn within 50 feet of a structure. Additionally, no residential burns are allowed within 500 feet of forest slash.
This includes all incorporated city limits within Grant County. There are several areas within the Fire District boundaries as well, please contact (509) 765-3175 for further burn questions and to inform us of your scheduled burning.
- Can I burn at night?
NO. Residential and Land clearing burns at night are prohibited. These burns are often seen by citizens passing by and are reported to the 9-1-1 dispatch center. Ultimately, fire units are then dispatched to your residential or land clearing burn even though you may have it under control.
- What if the smoke is drifting over to my neighbors house?
If the smoke from your residential or land clearing burn is impacting your neighbors you must extinguish it immediately. Therefore it is important to choose your burn day carefully, taking into account the winds and temperatures. This will not only help in not impacting your neighbors but will keep your fire safe and will lessen the chances of it escaping from your control.
- What are some alternatives to burning?
Burning is not always the best option. You may also consider turning the yard waste into compost or having it chipped and hauled away by your local garbage disposal company.
- What about agricultural burns?
A permit is required before you can conduct an agricultural burn. An agricultural burn is a burn of orchard trees (if the orchard will be replanted) open fields or harvest debris.
Every day there is a decision made if agricultural burning will be allowed. You can call 509-329-3400 for the daily burn decision or visit the Washington State Department of Ecology's burn decision page.
- What do I need to do to conduct a safe burn?
Always call before you burn. Advise the MACC 9-1-1 dispatch center at 762-1160 and within our Fire District 765-3175.
Never leave your fire unattended. If there is enough wind to significantly affect your fire, consider burning another day. Finally, always have a water source nearby to help extinguish any problem spots.
- Where can I find more burning tips and restriction information?
For more information on burning tips and restrictions contact the Washington State Department of Ecology.
Some of the information on this page was obtained from the WSDOE website.