Banner -Grant County, WA Official County Government Website

Button - Home


Header - Elected Offices


Button - Assessor


Button - Auditor


Button - Clerk


Button - Commissioners


Button - Coroner


Button - District Court


Button - Prosecutor


Button - Sheriff


Button - Superior Court


Button - Treasurer


Header - Departments


Button - Building


Button - Claims


Button - Central Services


Button - Code Enforcement


Button - Development Services


Button - Elections


Button - Emergency Management


Button - Fairgrounds


Button - Fire Marshal


Button - GCTS


Button - GIS (Maps and Data)


Button - Grant Integrated


Button - Human Resources


Button - New Hope


Button - Planning


Button - Public Records


Button - Public Works


Button - WSU Extension


Button - Youth Services


Header - Boards


Button - Equilization


Button - Weed Board


Button - Other


Button - Veterans Assistance


Sheriff's Home Page » Concealed Pistol Licenses

Concealed Pistol Licenses
 

Who is eligible for a CPL:
Applicants must be Grant County residents or out-of-state residents. Washington residents who live outside of Grant County must apply at their local Sheriff’s Office. City residents may apply to the local law enforcement agency (police department) in the jurisdiction where they reside.

Any applicant convicted of a felony cannot have a permit unless their rights have been restored by the appropriate court. Other conditions that may prevent the ability to obtain a CPL are listed in RCW 9.41.070.

How to apply for, renew or replace a CPL:
 

All applications will be processed online at:

https://grantwa.permitium.com/ccw/start


New CPL: Online only. In-person applications are not being accepted at this time.
CPL renewals: Online only. You may not apply until 90 days prior to the expiration date shown on your current CPL.
CPL late renewals: Online only. Applications will be accepted up to 90 days after the expiration date shown on the current CPL.
CPL replacement: Online only. If your CPL is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may apply for a replacement regardless of where your CPL was originally issued.

What to bring to your fingerprint appointment:
Applicants must provide one of the following state or federally issued photo identification:


• A current driver’s license
• A current Washington state identification card
• Military identification card
• A current passport
• Law enforcement identification
• Additional required documentation (if applicable):
• Permanent resident card (green card)
• Alien Firearms License
 

When will I receive my permit?
In accordance with RCW 9.41.070, a CPL will be issued to an eligible person residing in this state within 30 days after the submission of an application. If the applicant does not have a valid Washington state driver’s license or Washington state identification card or has not been a resident of Washington for the previous consecutive ninety days, the CPL will be issued within 60 days after the submission of an application.

Out-of-State Residents
Washington has reciprocity for concealed pistol licenses issued by certain other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General’s website provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for concealed pistol licenses.

Alien Firearms Licenses
The Department of Licensing has additional application information for resident aliens living in Washington State who wish to apply for a firearms license.

Fees
For credit card transactions, a nominal credit card transaction fee and an on-line convenience fee will be charged for each transaction. These charges are non-refundable and will be visible prior to transaction completion. Credit card transaction services are provided by a third party vendor and the Sheriff’s Office only collects the fees in accordance with the Washington State statute.
In accordance with RCW 9.41.070 (5), RCW 9.41.070 (6) and RCW 9.41.070 (7), fees associated with applying for a CPL are non-refundable. In the event that you cancel your application, do not pick-up your license, or if you are found to be ineligible to lawfully possess a CPL/firearm, you will not receive a refund.

FAQs:

When do I need to have a Concealed Pistol License?
RCW 9.41.050 requires you to have a concealed pistol license when:


• You are carrying a pistol concealed on your person, or
• You are carrying or placing a loaded pistol in a vehicle.


Is there a background check?
Yes. You will need to be fingerprinted and a criminal history background check will be conducted before your license is issued.

Are there other requirements?
Yes. The following requirements must be met:


• Resident of Grant County or a Non-Washington resident
• 21 years of age or older at time of application
• Be a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien with a permanent        resident card (green card)
• No pending trial, appeal or sentencing on a prohibitive charge
• No outstanding warrants for any charge, from any court
• No court order or injunction against possessing a firearm
• No mental health prohibitors
• No felony convictions
• No convictions for any of the following crimes when committed by one family member against another on or after July 1, 1993;


o Assault IV
o Coercion
o Stalking
o Reckless Endangerment
o Criminal Trespass in the first degree


Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from the residence
 

Hours & Location
Grant County Sheriff’s Office
By appointment only
35 C St. NW
Ephrata, WA 98823
Monday-Friday, 10am-4pm
509-754-2011 ext 2001

For more information about firearm law:
If you would like to obtain more information pertaining to state firearms law, call the Department of Licensing in Olympia at (360) 664-6616. You may also write to:

Department of Licensing
Firearms Unit
PO Box 9469
Olympia, WA 98504-9649

For questions regarding federal law pertaining to firearms, or if you would like to obtain a copy of Federal Firearms Regulations, please write or call:

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)
915 2nd Ave, Room 790
Seattle, WA 98174
(206) 389-6800

For additional information, please select this link www.atf.gov.


 


Web hosting services are provided and managed by Grant County Technology Services

 

| All Rights Reserved | Grant County, WA 2007-2020 |