Banner -Grant County, WA Official County Government Website

Button - Home

Header - Elected Offices

Button - Assessor

Button - Auditor

Button - Clerk

Button - Commissioners

Button - Coroner

Button - District Court

Button - Prosecutor

Button - Sheriff

Button - Superior Court

Button - Treasurer

Header - Departments

Button - Building

Button - Claims

Button - Central Services

Button - Code Enforcement

Button - Development Services

Button - Elections

Button - Emergency Management

Button - Fairgrounds

Button - Fire Marshal

Button - GCTS

Button - GIS (Maps and Data)

Button - Grant Integrated

Button - Human Resources

Button - New Hope

Button - Planning

Button - Public Records

Button - Public Works

Button - WSU Extension

Button - Youth Services

Header - Boards

Button - Equilization

Button - Weed Board

Button - Other

Button - Veterans Assistance

Superior Court


General Juror Information:


To Be Eligible for Jury Service, You Must Be:

  • A citizen of the United States.

  • At least 18 years of age.

  • A resident of Grant County.

  • Able to communicate in the English language. (RCW 2.36.070)

  • No longer under the Department of Corrections supervision (if previously convicted of a felony).

Each month, a panel of potential jurors is drawn at random from a combined list of Grant County Voters and Washington State licensed drivers/identification card holders.


When selected for jury service, you will be mailed a summons and juror profile questionnaire.


Read the questionnaire carefully.  Fill out the questionnaire completely; date and sign it.


Return your completed questionnaire, including any request for excuse or deferral, within 10 days. (Donít forget a postage stamp.)  Requests for excuse or deferral must be in writing and cannot be granted over the phone.


No person may be excused from jury service by the court except upon showing undue hardship, extreme inconvenience, public necessity, or reason deemed sufficient by the court for the period of time the court deems necessary.  RCW 2.36.100

Reporting For Duty:

If you are not excused or deferred, you will next receive a Notice to Appear.  It includes your group number and your individual juror number for the given month of your term.  The notice will specify certain reporting dates within that term and give instructions to call a designated phone number (listed below) after 5:00 p.m. the day before each reporting date.  When you call, you will learn whether or not to report to the courthouse the next day.

Listen carefully to be sure that the message on the recording is for your assigned jury group.  Your assigned "group number" is printed on the front side of your instructions.  If you do not receive a message, please check to be sure that you are calling on the correct month and day and are calling the appropriate extension.


Assigned Call-in Lines:

  • Group 1:  754-2011 ext. 4131

  • Group 2:  754-2011 ext. 4132

  • Group 3:  754-2011 ext. 4133

  • Group 4:  754-2011 ext. 4134

For long distance (from within Washington State), call toll-free 1-800-572-0119 and your above assigned extension.


If instructed to report, you will usually report for duty the following working day; you may be instructed to call again at a later time.


If you are not required to report, the recording will remind you of the next assigned date (if any) during your term. You must then call the recording again after 5:00 p.m. the night before the next scheduled reporting date for updated reporting instructions.


If you forget to call, call the jury administrator as soon as possible at (509) 754-2011 ext. 4179 between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.


Jurors are compensated at rates authorized by State law and County ordinance.  A $10/day jury fee and mileage (.54/mile) will be paid. Please check your odometer when driving to court.


Some employers pay full or partial compensation to employees during jury service.  Please check with your payroll office about the availability of any such benefit before you report for service.


For Further Information or Assistance:

Call the Jury Administrator 754-2011 ext. 4179 between 9:00 A.M. and 4:00 PM Monday through Friday.


According to state law, your employer must allow you time off from work for jury service, and "shall not deprive an employee of employment or threaten, coerce, or harass an employee or deny an employee promotional opportunities" for serving as a juror. However, an employer is not required to compensate an employee during periods of jury service.


Web hosting services are provided and managed by Grant County Technology Services


| All Rights Reserved | Grant County, WA 2007-2020 |